Storms

We had some very heavy thunderstorms move in yesterday evening, some even producing tornadoes.  I was working at the time and the area I work in has many windows.  As I was going about my work, I would look out the windows and watch the clouds move in, some big, white, and fluffy – others very large and dark.  Every once in awhile the sun would peek through creating a wonderful visual picture.  I remember thinking to myself as I watched the storm move through: how could something that was so awesome and beautiful,  almost serene to the eye, be so bold, powerful and destructive to everything it touches?  Some of the images looking out the window were of such beauty that it took my breath away and left me in awe of God’s magnificent expression.

I know there may be those who would say God did not create the storms; that it was just cold and warm air colliding together and creating the winds, thunder, lightening, and eventually the tornadoes.  Scientifically I suppose that would be true, but I believe the hand of God is in there somewhere.

For me, it is representative of the storms we have in our daily lives.  Some of our struggles aren’t so bad and very manageable, but other times the storms of life are so unbearable they bring us to our knees.  Our first reaction is to ask where was God when I needed him and why did he allow this to happen.  I believe he is there with us during all our difficulties, carrying us through them. He is the peace and calm once the storms of our lives are over.

For me, I do believe God is in the thunderstorms and tornadoes – carrying them along so that  their path of destruction is as minimal as possible. Or perhaps to show us the beauty in storms, however fierce and ominous, that they are only temporary.  Wherever you are, I hope your day is one of calm and peace.  If you do face any storms, may you be able to see the  power, beauty and majesty they carry with them.  Until next time… God Bless you.

Leave a comment