Burnt Image

Every once in a while I manage to stumble across an image that burns into my mind for one reason or another, and today was one of those times.  I was on social media and came across a post that said 29 pictures of the human race you may have never seen before.  Naturally it peeked my curiosity so I clicked the image and began to browse through them.

The first pictures were of beautiful and unique faces from all over the world (mostly third world country), it then went  on to images of the very poor in our world.  As I continued to look at the list of photos I found myself shocked, saddened and disturbed.  You see, the images were beginning to show the tragedies and atrocities in life.  The human suffering at the hands of other individuals.  They were awful proof of the torture, abuse and neglect that exist in the world.  I couldn’t even begin to imagine how or why anyone would do that to another, or think it was acceptable behavior.

After viewing the long list of photographs the thought came to me…yes, these images are eye opening, but they also show the strength and determination of the human will.  Though the body may suffer many things, the true soul and spirit can not be broken.  These people have found a purpose, however small, to get up and live another day.

Life is full of experiences that are wonderful, good and sometimes tragic.  It is how we react and learn from these experiences that will determine how we forge ahead.  It is my hope that we will stand strong when others are weak, be loving when hate is all around us, and be helpful when there is no help.

We can not control the actions of others, but the actions we take can speak volumes.  May the images that speak to you be ones of beauty, honor and good will.  As they say “a picture says a thousand words,” what will yours say?  Until next time…God Bless you

Leave a comment