Family Time

My sister and her granddaughter came to visit me over the weekend, and we had such a wonderful time, we hated to see it come to an end.  It is very rare to have family come to my home for visits so on those occasions when they do, I thoroughly take it all in.

We went to several stores shopping for clothes, shoes and groceries.  It is always an experience shopping with my sister as she is they type of shopper that goes up and down each isle, picks up every little thing to inspect it, and has to try on many, many outfits only to decide she did not find a single thing worth purchasing.  I began to realize that her granddaughter is the same way.  As I sat back patiently waiting, I started to watch the two of them, and came to the realization that my sister had created a little ‘mini me’ out of her, which I suppose in some ways is inevitable, since my great niece is the only granddaughter she has.

Ever since I can remember on most paydays, my sis would reward herself by purchasing a piece of jewelry.  She loves any and all kinds of jewelry.  I rarely refer to her by her given name, I’ve always called her Bling Bling, even my friends know her as such.  Naturally, we had to shop for a piece of jewelry, she tried on many pieces before finding just the right one.  It was beautiful and one day her little mini me will take ownership of all that bling-bling.

Yes, it was a tiring but fun day of shopping which ended with an evening of movies, snacks, drinks and laughter late into the night.  It was a breathe of fresh air I never knew I needed. How wonderful and therapeutic family can be.  I will cherish and appreciate all the time spent with family and friends, my life is truly fulfilled when I let my hair down and enjoy each moment as it comes.  I hope you have little unexpected breaths of fresh air in your life today and find some ‘bling’ in the beauty around you.  Until next time…God Bless you.

Leave a comment