The Thin Line

I have been watching the mini series called the Bible A.D. on the NBC network.  I confess I’ve not seen every episode, but I’ve seen enough to know that these disciples (as did Jesus) went through brutal and horrific circumstances.  They had a love and deep passion for what they believed in to have endured the treatment they suffered at the hands of Roman Government.  It is one thing to read about the course of events in the bible and other religious books, but it’s an entirely different circumstance to see these stories unfold on film before your very eyes.

It made me begin to wonder why on Earth there has been so much hate and revulsion throughout our history.  Since the beginning of time, starting with Cain and Abel, we have fought, hated and murdered one another.  Are we as a human race really that incapable of loving our fellow man?  Even unto this day we have these religious wars going on all over the globe.

I do not mean to come off as being naive in my thinking, but surely I am not the only one who has ever asked this question, and I’m sure if the answer were an easy one we would all be in search of it.  In my experience, I was always taught that to lay down ones life for another was the greatest thing we could do, not to take another’s life.

There is a thin line between love and hate, and it’s a very fragile one at that.  We have come so far on many fronts in our long history as a people, but clearly we have a long way to go.  How do we build up a people and help nations come together if we cannot listen and learn from one another? That’s not to say that we can all sit around a camp fire and sing Kumbaya together, but there needs to be a shift in perception for us to survive these horrible atrocities going forward.

I know that as life goes on and history keeps unfolding, there will be those that ask perhaps some of the same questions that I do from time to time, and that one day the answer to the question will be solved.  In the mean time, my hope is that we can at least try and love one another a little bit more and do what we can for each other.  You never know, one loving act may generate a wealth of healing.

I hope you have a day full of love and blessings where ever you may be in this vast beautiful and complicated world.Until next time… God Bless you.

Leave a comment